John Harasimo
New Day, New Smile!
About Me
My Books
Other Books in the Pipeline
Internet Chatter about my books

About Me

I was born in Wichita Falls, Texas. The Texas law then, was that you had to be 6 years old on September 1st to be in public school. Unfortunately, my birthday was September 4th and I was not able to start 1st grade with all my friends. So, my parents chose to send me to St. Paul Lutheran private school for the 1st grade because they would take me at 5 years old. It was an accredited grade school by the State of Texas. This meant that upon graduating from the 1st grade there, I could then roll right into 2nd grade in the public school system. My parents wanted me to go through school with the friends I had known since I was 4 years old. I'm very thankful that they did. This school was interesting in many ways, but mainly because I was a member of my mom's Southern Baptist church. My father was a Russian Catholic. So, you see, my early years of life crossed through three different religions. This is why, in adult life, I have had no problem learning and interacting with any/all types of religion. It is where I get my belief that the basic's of ALL religion is the same. It is a shame that we (Men/Women) spend so much time trying to differentiate our religions from others.

I Attended Reagan Junior high and then moved on to the original city High School that is referred to as 'The Old High'. We had a killer football team called the 'Coyotes', and they have a very impressive history. We won State Championship my Junior year. It was GREAT!

My father lost his battle with cancer and died six weeks before I graduated from High School in 1971. I started at Midwestern State University there in my home town. After three semesters, I was unsure as to my future plans and decided to beat the draft by joining the Navy. I was trained in communications and encryption. I spent three years in Yokosuka Japan at the Naval Communications Center there. All except for a small 6 1/2 month TAD (Temporary Assigned Duty) stint at ComSubgroup 7. They needed a 'Crypto' qualified person, and I was asked to volunteer for 6 weeks as just a 'Fill In'. Like I said, I ended up being there for 6 1/2 months. That is what happens when you VOLUNTEER!  However, in the end, I loved it. It was very interesting work. I was honorably discharged in July 1976 and returned home to Wichita Falls. I had acquired many high level security clearances, and I am certain that my first civilian job was obtained because the employer was impressed by them. The hiring manager even said so during the orientation after hiring me.

I returned to college and attended day classes while working full time as a computer operator for a company that processed banks all over the country. Though I was older than most, I joined the TKE fraternity there at Midwestern. It was a blast and I met some VERY interesting individuals! I graduated in 1981 with a Bachelor in Business Administration. I was a full time programmer by then and actually had to finish my degree with a few night coursed. It was the best thing I ever did and has provided me a very comfortable living these 33 years. I have been transferred to several states by my company and also stationed in Moscow Russia for 20 months. I am still doing it. I program for major financial institutions from my home. After working in office environments for 32 years, this has been a change. I didn't really like it at first, but have grown to accept it as the next phase of my career.

I was married for twenty years to my first wife, and we had two very lovely children. I can't imagine not having had the opportunity to have been their father and watch them develop into the wonderful adults they are today. Having one girl and one boy, allowed me to see both sides of the fence so to speak. They both presented the different challenges growing up that you would expect from a boy and a girl. Their mother and I are still friends.

I was fortunate to have the opportunity to raise my little girl here in Plano from the time of my divorce in 1997. She was eight when she and I moved here to Plano. I did not date for the first 2 1/2 years after my divorce because I wanted to concentrate on getting her settled here in this new town. Once she was established with friends and activities, I ventured out into the dating world and found it VERY interesting. It was a shock to so quickly encounter a woman whom I was so very comfortable with. One thing led to another, and we were married in September 2001.

I had the great honor of taking care of my mother for almost four years. She developed Alzheimer and could not live alone any longer. Though both of my brothers would have loved to have taken her in also, I was the one with a spare bedroom. Again, my current wife proved to be a very amazing individual and supported my decision to take in my mother. She lived with us until her death in July 2010. It was hard to watch this graceful lady deteriorate and finally pass. I see her now in every room of the house, but only in my mind. They are fond memories and I miss her very much.

The loss of my mother in 2010 was followed by my wife passing in 2011 from Breast Cancer.

My late wife and I, had custody of 4 of her grand kids. I was 57 years old, and she was 54. We had a 2 1/2 year old boy, 3 1/2 year old boy, 5 year old girl and 8 year old girl. Though I never envisioned raising any more kids when I married her, they brought a lot of life (sometimes TOO much life) into our home. They definitely kept us hoping from the time they woke up until they fell asleep at night.  Christmas has ALWAYS been my most favorite holiday and time of the year. Having Children in the house really added to the magic of the season, and I LOVED it because of their excitement.

I had always wanted to write a book, so I finally made up my mind and did it! I intend to write as long as my mind works, and I can hold a thought.

This is a short version of my life, but now you should really have a feel for who and what I am. I'm just an average guy who has tried to roll with the bumps that life throws my way. Just like everyone else.